⬅  Back to Latest Articles

Sep 10, 2018

Gabriel Medina Wins the 2018 Surf Ranch Pro

Today Gabriel Medina won the first CT wave pool event in WSL history, putting himself in the perfect position to fight for the 2018 World Title.

In a historic moment for surfing, Gabriel Medina (BRA) has won the inaugural Surf Ranch Pro event, stop No. 8 on the World Surf League (WSL) Championship Tour (CT) and the world’s first CT wave pool event in competitive surfing history.Gabriel takes home his second CT win of 2018 with victory at the Surf Ranch Pro, now earning back-to-back wins against the world’s best. The 2014 WSL Champion narrowed the gap between him and Jeep Rankings Leader Filipe Toledo (BRA) with his 11th career CT win.

“It was amazing to win again, especially here at the Surf Ranch, and it feels good to get a little closer to Filipe (Toledo), Filipe is so dangerous, he’s probably the best at the Surf Ranch, so it’s special to win. - Gabriel said.

Surf Ranch Pro Men’s Final Results:

Medina’s win today looked to be in jeopardy after an uncharacteristic fall on his opening left, but he was quick to bounce back and posted an excellent 8.73 on the right run. Medina then went on to take advantage of the makeup left granted to competitors due to the infrequency of wave quality and soared his signature, ending air manoeuvre to earn a near-perfect 9.13.

Looking towards the final few events of the 2018 CT season, Gabriel is in a great position to continue his campaign for the 2018 World Title. Just 4,100 points behind Filipe on the rankings, it is set to be an exciting race all the way to the final event at Pipeline, Oahu, Hawaii. The 2018 World Title race will be a showdown to remember, and after a nearly missed victory in 2017, Gabriel has never been more ready.

Surf Ranch Pro Men’s Final Results:

1Gabriel Medina (BRA)17.86
2Filipe Toledo (BRA)17.03
3Kelly Slater (USA)16.27
4Kanoa Igarashi (JPN)15.77
5Owen Wright (AUS)15.40
6Julian Wilson (AUS)15.37
7Sebastian Zietz (HAW)15.07
8Miguel Pupo (BRA)12.96

Surf Ranch Pro Women’s Final Results:

1Carissa Moore (HAW)17.80
2Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)16.70
3Lakey Peterson (USA)16.57
4Kanoa Igarashi (JPN)14.77

2018 WSL Men's CT Jeep Leaderboard

1Filipe Toledo (BRA)49,785
2Gabriel Medina (BRA)45,685
3Julian Wilson (AUS)37,125
4Kanoa Igarashi (JPN)31,825
5Owen Wright (AUS)29,485